Home  :  Directory  :  Careers  :  Transparency Seal



In order to bring closer to our clientele, the decentralization of Central Office functions through the activation of Regional Offices, expansion of inspectional activities to include provincial and regional command headquarters, the NAPOLCOM 12 came into existence by virtue of an Office Order in 1979. The Regional Office was established in order to achieve and attain a higher degree of efficiency in the organization, administration and operation of local police agencies so that peace and order may be maintained more effective and to place the service on a professional level in the region. The first Regional Office was established in Cotabato City.

To upgrade, improve the quality of the local police service nationwide, the conduct of examination was decentralized on March 20, 1977. Sometime in 1979, the Regional Office XII was created with authorized positions of forty-five (45) and it was headed by Atty. Gertrudo Calambacal. At that time, the Regional Office has three (3) provinces, namely; Lanao Del Norte, North Cotabato and Sultan Kudarat under the Regional Office No. XII. The province of Lanao Del Norte is composed of twenty-two (22) municipalities and one (1) city (Iligan City); North Cotabato has eighteen (18) municipalities and Sultan Kudarat has twelve (12) municipalities.

Executive Order No. 429, series of 1990 signed by then Pres. Corazon C. Aquino, reorganizes Administrative Regions in Mindanao. Article X, Sec. 15 of the 1987 Constitution created the "Autonomous regions in Muslim Mindanao and in the Cordilleras consisting of provinces, cities, and municipalities and geographical areas sharing common and distinctive historical and cultural heritage, economic and social structures, and other relevant characteristics within the framework of this Constitution and the national sovereignty as well as territorial integrity of the Republic of the Philippines”, Further, Sec. 4 thereof, created Region XII, to be known as CENTRAL MINDANAO to include the following provinces and cities; viz:


  1. Sultan Kudarat
  2. North Cotabato
  3. South Cotabato


  1. Cotabato
  2. General Santos

By the issuance of Executive Order No. 36, s. 2001 dated September 19, 2001, reorganized the Region XII to be known as SOCCSKSARGEN and it shall be composed of the following provinces and cities; namely:


  1. North Cotabato
  2. Sultan Kudarat
  3. South Cotabato
  4. Sarangani


  1. Kidapawan City
  2. Tacurong City
  3. Koronadal City
  4. General Santos City
  5. Cotabato City

The said administrative regions were established to promote efficiency in the government, accelerate social and economic development and improve public services.

On March 3, 2004, Pres. Gloria Macapagal Arroyo issued Executive Order No. 304 Series of 2004, designating Koronadal City as the Regional Center and Seat of SOCCSKSARGEN. Hence, the office of Regional Office XII was transferred to Koronadal City from Cotabato City on April 8, 2008 under the leadership of Dir. Benjamin DA Florentino, CESO IV.

The following Regional Directors have rendered and displayed their expertise, professional competence and invaluable service towards the attainment of goals and objectives of this Regional Office; viz:


Region XII (SOCCSKSARGEN Region) is located in Central MIndano. The name of the region is derived from the acronym of its four component provinces and two cities - SOuth Cotabato, Cotabato (North Cotabato), Cotabato City, Sultan Kudarat, SARangani and GENeral Santos City.

The regional center is Koronadal City located in South Cotabato. But Cotabato City becomes part of Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) when Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) came in place in 2019.

The following Local Chief Executives lead the province, city and municipalities. They also act as NAPOLCOM deputies in their area of responsibility; to wit:

All Rights Reserved
National Police Commission - REGION XII